# 2022-2023 Bayview Secondary School Council Minutes

Date: Monday, September 19, 2022 (Last meeting of 2021-22 School Year)

**Time:** 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. **Place:** School Cafeteria

Co-Chairs: Ben Schu and Colin Hilkowitz (2021-22);

Arlene Amitirigala and Linda Zhang (2022-23)

Treasurer: Linda Zhang (2021-22);

Maggie Ye (2022-23)

Secretary: Joanna Yu (minutes-taker) and Maral Sadr (co-secretaries 2021-22);

Angela Yeung (2022-23)

#### 1. Attendance

## **Administration**

Aldrin Fernando (Principal), Milton Hart (Vice-Principal), Katrina Morrison (Vice-Principal), Stacey Sadacharan (Vice-Principal)

Teacher Rep - N/A

Student Rep - N/A

## Members of Council 2022 - 23

Joanna Yu, Sarah Chow, Linda Zhang (co-chair), Joanne Pan, Deepshikha Swaroop, Mary Li, Marcelle Castle, Janet Deng, Sharon Wang, Arlene Amitirigala (co-chair), Maggie Ye (treasurer), Vivian Tu, Jennifer Hsieh-Chung, Tina Liang, Majid Sohrabi, Helen Satari, Donna Dong, Syeda Hussain, Yan Wang, Angela Yeung (secretary), Parin Akhavan, Olivia Peng

#### Other Attendees

Ben Schu, Lydia Zhang, Jenny Jiang, Christain Xin, Randy Lam, Zhan Liang Xu, Doris Fok, Maryam Zabih, Myrtle Liew, Nazanin Mazaher, Karen Tom, Emily Wang, Ann Lem, Gengsheng Zhou, Jinner Arellanos, Davood Hashemi, Jian Liu, Marc Akbar, Stella Yuan, Felix Zhou

## 2. Welcome

Ben welcomed the 2021-2022 school council to the last meeting of the 2021-2022 school year, and welcomed all the other attendees. Ben discussed the role of school council and sub-committees.

## 3. Approval of Agenda

- Sharon motioned to approve the agenda; motion seconded by Linda
- Agenda approved

## 4. Approval of Minutes from June 14, 2022

- Sharon motioned to approve the minutes; motion seconded by Joanne Pan
- · Minutes approved

## 5. Student Council Report - N/A

## 6. Principal Updates

- introduction of new Principal Aldrin Fernando and new Vice-Principals Milton Hart and Katrina Morrison; re-introduction of Vice-Principal Stacey Sadacharan
- currently 1900 students in attendance (1810 had been projected in June); about 40 more students are waiting to attend
- job postings are out for 10 new sections, just over 3 teachers to service the extra students
- Aldrin encouraged parents to pay the voluntary \$50 School Engagement Fee on School Cash Online; the funds will help reduce the cost of running extra-curricular activities (roughly 60 clubs), and will help support groups such as the Student Council to build and strengthen the sense of community at Bayview Secondary School.

## 7. Treasurer's Report

Opening balance \$7824.23

#### 8. Business

#### a. Election of School Council Members 2022-2023

An election did not take place as attendees were in favor of increasing the number of parents who can be part of the council from the current limit of 20 to 22.

#### Members of 2022-23 School Council

- 1. Arlene Amitirigala,
- 2. Linda Zhang,
- 3. Maggie Ye,
- 4. Angela Yeung,
- 5. Joanna Yu,
- 6. Sarah Chow.
- 7. Joanne Pan,
- 8. Deepshikha Swaroop,
- 9. Mary Li,
- 10. Marelle Castle,
- 11. Janet Deng,
- 12. Sharon Wang,
- 13. Vivian Tu,

- 14. Jennifer Hsieh-Chung,
- 15. Tina Liang,
- 16. Majid Sohrabi,
- 17. Helen Satari,
- 18. Donna Dong,
- 19. Syeda Hussain,
- 20. Yan Wang,
- 21. Parin Akhavan,
- 22. Olivia Peng

#### b. Election of School Council Executive

The council members from this year's and last year's councils voted to elect the executive members of 2022-2023 School Council.

#### Results

Co-chairs: Arlene Amitirigala and Linda Zhang

Treasurer: Maggie Ye Secretary: Angela Yeung

## c. Election of Parent Support and Parent Engagement Groups

The sub-committees run by council members this year will be Fundraising, Parent Engagement, and Parent Support Group.

#### d. Sub-Committee Chairs and Members

The following members and attendees volunteered to be part of the subcommittees below:

- *Fundraising:* Linda Zhang, Mary Li, Marcelle Castle, Vivian Tu, Janet Deng, Deepshikha Swaroop, Emily Wang
- **Parent Engagement:** Deepshikha Swaroop, Sarah Chow, Arlene Amitirigala, Angela Yeung, Olivia Peng, Donna Dong,
- *Parent Support:* Syeda Hussain, Olivia Peng, Joanne Pan, Angela Yeung, Helen Safari
- \*\* Aldrin suggested that the parent support group help disseminate information to parents on strategies to drive more safely in the parking lot when dropping off their children at school, as currently the lot is dangerous at 8:45 am\*\*

#### e. YRDSB Pro-Grant Updates

The school will receive approval if we meet application deadlines.

## f. Determination of Next Meeting Dates for this Year

After a discussion between administration and council members, it was decided that meetings will take place on Mondays every six weeks or so. The meeting time will remain at  $7:00-8:30\,\mathrm{pm}$ 

- 9. Other business
- a. School department funding/request updates TBD
- 10. Next Meeting: Monday, November 7, 2022
- 11. **Adjournment:** The meeting was adjourned at 8:35 pm.